Qualification: DTLLS – Diploma in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector

Trainer Training and Accreditation

DTLLS – Diploma in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector

[hr color=”red” width=”100%” border_width=”1px” ]

IMPORTANT: The final registrations for the PTLLS, CTLLS and DTLLS qualifications are likely to be 31/08/2014, according to a City & Guilds News Release. Read more…

[hr color=”red” width=”100%” border_width=”1px” ]

This intensive 18 month programme comprises face-to-face training days, assignment workshops, 1:1 tutorials, workplace assessment, individual research, distance learning and the completion of 8 assignments.

DTLLS is the qualification required for teachers/tutors and assessors who work in the lifelong learning sector in a ‘full teaching’ role.

Entry Requirements

This course builds on the Certificate in Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector (PTLLS / 7303). To join the course you must have PTLLS or its equivalent (e.g. NVQ Level 3 or 4 in Learning and Development).

Delegates must also have access to at least 150 hours of teaching/training practice.

Format and Course Content

Delegates will attend 12 training days; one a month, for 12 months. These are highly interactive, face-to-face sessions. They are built around key themes that address the course content, prompt reflective practice and provide an opportunity to share good practice with others. Individual tutorial support and distance learning is built into the programme.


The course is assessed by 8 assignments, an ongoing reflective journal and a teaching/training practice portfolio. Delegates will have to evidence 150 hours of teaching/training and will be observed 8 times.

Additional Requirements – CTLLS

  • A teaching/training portfolio documenting 150 hours of teaching/training practice;
  • 8 observation reports on 8 separate occasions;
  • A Reflective Journal throughout the programme.

ILM (Institute of Leadership and Management) Approved CentreAwarding Body

City & Guilds